"Twelve Guitars" is Ian Senior's fifth LP (Previous: "The Night" - "Shoot The Moon" - "The Affair" - "Songs From A Blue Country").

It is inspired by the 1961 Shirelles song "Baby It's You", written by Burt Bacharach, Luther Dixon and Mack David. Short, tender and yearning, what jumps out at the listener is the enormously naive solo: a quick burst of tinny organ, played almost with one finger, turned up real loud in the mix.  Gone in a few seconds, but leaving behind echoes of innocence and playfulness. The idea took form to make a record that seized upon these emotions: twelve songs, twelve guitars, twelve solos.

Ian has a bunch of guitars, gathered here and there, fixed up and cared for. Every guitar has a song in it, so he wrote one each for twelve different guitars and recorded them live with upright bass and drums for company. In every tune the trio left a hole for a solo and then Ian went around with a microphone, a pair of headphones and a handheld recorder and found twelve different musicians to plug those holes. Every musician was give free reign to do exactly what they wanted in the time they were given, the only rules being; no overdubs, no fixing, just straight to tape. The result is stripped down and straightforward, live and direct, the expression of 15 musicians having a good time. We hope you do, too.         

On all songs                                          



"That Good Night": Screaming: Thorvald. Eightcount: David Larring. Bell: on loan from Siste Reis, Halden.

Drums, bass and guitars recorded live at Red Rum Studio, Nesodden, Norway.

Engineered by the incomparable Kai Andersen on a Neve "Melbourne".

Vocals recorded at Malabar Studio, Grünerløkka, Oslo. Engineered by David Larring.

Solo instruments recorded all over the goddam place, usually by Ian Senior.

Mixed and mastered at Malabar Studio by David Larring. Artistic consigliere: Frode Jacobsen


Martin Revheim, Frode Jacobsen,  Horntvedth, Morten Andersen, Bianca, Thorvald and Alfred. And Powers' Whiskey.

Ian SeniorIan_Senior_-_Home.html
HOME        Discography        about        contact        Pictures            Video            Music    Ian_Senior_-_Home.htmlIan_Senior_-_Discography.htmlIan_Senior_-_About.htmlIan_Senior_-_Contact.htmlIan_Senior_-_Photos.htmlIan_Senior_-_Video.htmlIan_Senior_-_Music.htmlshapeimage_5_link_0shapeimage_5_link_1shapeimage_5_link_2shapeimage_5_link_3shapeimage_5_link_4shapeimage_5_link_5shapeimage_5_link_6
Get Ian Senior Twitter Updateshttp://twitter.com/#!/ianseniormusic
Become a Ian Senior Fan on Facebookhttp://www.facebook.com/pages/Ian-Senior/151718828233604


1. Another World

2. Little Bird

3. Take Me To A Bar

4. Hey Princess

5. Something Wrong With Everyone

  1. 6.That Good Night

  2. 7.Got Your Back

  3. 8.The House Always Wins

  4. 9.House Of Wolves

  5. 10. Sunday's Child

  6. 11. New York

  7. 12. The Friends We Left Behind

5:44    Gibson ES125

4:04    Gretsch G3156

4:12    Ibanez Talman Lipstick

4:01    Hofner Thinline

4:20    Fender Telecaster

2:55    Gibson Western Classic

3:15    Ibanez "Concord"

4:06    Gretsch "Broadcaster"

4:32    Acoustic Telecaster "Senior"

3:44    Epiphone "Granada"

4:14    Ibanez "Charleston"

4:12    Martin Mahogany "00"

Lars Martin Vik

Håkon Mjåset Johansen

Ian Senior

Ian Senior

Upright bass




Hayden Powell

Rob Waring

Halvor Voldstad

Øystein Greni

Clifton Haridas

Asbjørn Ribe

Tarjei Nysted

Frode Haltli

Embrik Snerte

Sidsel Walstad

Johannes Martens

Sigmund Groven





Steel Drum

Electric Organ

Hardanger Fiddle






Another World

Little Bird

Take Me To A Bar

Hey Princess

Something Wrong With Everyone

That Good Night

Got Your Back

The House Always Wins

House Of Wolves

Sunday's Child

New York

The Friends We Left Behind